Zambia is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. According to its constitution, Zambia is a Christian nation. Less than 5% of its population practise another religion. Zambia is known to host refugees fleeing from its neighbouring countries such as Zimbabweans, Rwandese,Angolans and refugees from the Democratic Republic of Congo. The official language is English. Zambia has over 70 languages. It has a literacy rate of 63.4%. According to the World Bank Of Zambia is one of the world's fastest economically reformed countries. Zambia’s economy isheavily dependant of mining and agriculture. Zambia is one of the greatest producers of sugar in the world. 66.3% of Zambia’s land is occupied with forest and 31.7% is agricultural land ..

Political Profile/Structure/System

Politics in Zambia take place in a framework of a presidential representative democratic republic, whereby the President of Zambia is both head of state and head of government in a pluriform multi-party system. The government exercises executive power, while legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament..

Elections and Political Parties

Zambia held its elections in 2015. This presidential election was due to the death of the incumbent president. Patriotic Front’s candidate Edgar Lungu won the election with 48.33% and became the president. The voter turnout was 32%. In 2016, Zambia had its general elections. There were 9 presidential candidates. Edgar Lungu of the Patriotic Front and Hakainde Hichilema of the United Party for National Development who had both competed for the 2015 presidential elections participated. Edgar Lungu was seeking re-election. Lungu won the elections with 50.35% of the vote. The voter turnout was 56.45%. United Party for National Development rejected the results and filed a petition to contest the results. The international community commended the electoral procedure..

By The Numbers

In 2016, there were 18% women in parliament.


Participation and Inclusion

Has signed and ratified the Maputo Protocol. Has signed the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women