Prof Henry Moses Thairu

Henry Thairu has served   the Chairman, Commission for University Education from January 2014 to October 2016. The main work of the Commission is to Accredit ,Inspect and Regulate Universities and their Academic and Research Programs so as to ensure quality University Education.  He is the former Vice Chancellor of Inoorero University (IU). (2008-2013) IU is the Enterprise University of Kenya. He is the founder Managing Director of JKUAT Enterprises LTD, a company wholly owned by Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.(2005-2006) The company’s main mission is to commercialize the University’s Research and Development results  and Innovations. He has been the Deputy Vice Chancellor in charge of academic affairs at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) from February 1994 to April 2005.


He is the former Chairman of the Board of Management that runs the Kenya Education Network (KENET) and its secretariat. He is former Chairman of the Board of Kenya Industrial Property Institute (KIPI) and former Chairman of National Council of Science and Technology. He is the former  Chairman Radiation Protection Board (RPB) where he served for  six years  . He is the former  Chairman of Kenya ICT Board Innovation Grants Committee.. He is also the former Chairman and Governor  of the Kenya Private Sector Alliance (KEPSA) Higher Education, Science and Technology Sector Board (2010-2014). He is the current  Chairman of the Board of Governors of Railway Training Institute(RTI) a subsidiary of Kenya Railways Corporation.



He was a member of Higher Education Task Force (TAHEST) which developed the three bills which have already been  enacted  in to law. That is University Act of 2012, The Science and Technology and Innovation Act 2013 and TIVET Act 2013.