The Executive Team

The Executive Team
The ACTIL Executive Team comprises of the Advisory Board and the Technical Committee.
Advisory Board

Hon Thokozani Khupe

Member of parliament and former Deputy prime Minister of Zimbabwe (Chairperson)

She is a Zimbabwean politician and the Vice-President of the Movement for Democratic Change (MDC). She was Deputy Prime Minister of Zimbabwe from 11 February 2009 to August 2013. Born in Bulawayo, Hon. Khupe graduated from Turin College, Italy in Information Technology and also holds a Bachelor of Arts in Media Studies. Hon Khupe is a committed advocate of women’s empowerment & a believer in Womens leadership!

H.E Roman Tesfaye

First lady of Ethiopia, as well as General of Policy, Planning and Ministry of Health

She is the current First Lady of Ethiopia. She holds two master’s degrees in Economics and Leadership. Served as economic advisor in regional administration and served also as a high level official in the Ethiopian Women’s Affairs Ministry and Ethiopian Human Rights Commission.

Dr Izeduwa Derex-Briggs

Regional Director, UN Women Eastern and Southern Africa.

Dr Derex-Briggs is the Regional Director for UN Women, East & Southern Africa Regional Office based in Nairobi. She is a medical doctor by profession. She has a long experience in development work and has previously served as country representative for UN Women to South Sudan and Liberia.

Ms. Christine Musisi

UN Habitat Director for External Relations, Africa.

Ms Musisi is the current UN Habitat Director for External Relations, Africa. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration and Management; Postgraduate Diploma in Rural Extension and Women and a Master's Degree in Gender Analysis in Development. Ms Musisi has previously served as the UN Women Regional Director and UNDP Deputy Country Director.

Martin Luke Oduor-Otieno

Senior Advisor at Deloitte former CEO of KCB (Deputy Chairperson)

An accountant, businessman, entrepreneur and former bank executive in Kenya. He is the current chairman and CEO of Leadership Group Limited, a Nairobi-based consulting firm that he founded. He also serves on various boards. He previously served as the Group CEO of Kenya Commercial Bank Group, from 2007 until 2012.

Olive Mugenda

Former Vice-Chancellor,Kenyatta University

Kenyan academic, researcher, administrator, coach and mentor. In 2006, she was appointed as Vice Chancellor of Kenyatta University, one of the 22 public universities in Kenya. She is the first woman to lead a public university in the African Great Lakes area. She retired from Kenyatta University in 2016 after a successful career at the helm of this university.

Ms. Catherine Ngahu

Founder and Executive Chairperson of Strategic Business Options Limited. Immediate former chairperson of ICT Board.

Holds an MBA from the University of Nairobi and has also studied entrepreneurship development as a Business Fellow at the Wharton Business School, University of Pennsylvania. She is the founder Executive Chairperson at SBO Research and a senior lecturer at the University of Nairobi’s Business School. She is a Member of the Institute of Directors of Kenya, Marketing Society of Kenya as well as a Fellow of the African Leadership Initiative, among other roles.

Technical Commitee

Prof. Judith Waudo

Full Professor of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics at Kenyatta University/Chairperson Technical Commitee

Dr. Gladwell Njeri Wambiri

Senior Lecturer Early Childhood Studies Kenyatta university

I'm a Senior lecturer at Kenyatta University, Department of Early Childhood & Special Needs Education. She has a wealth of teaching and research experience in children’s’ early language and literacy development. She has presented papers in a number of international conferences and published papers in several peer reviewed journals. She has previously been a Chairman, Department of Early Childhood Studies and a School of Education Examination Coordinator.

Zebib S. Kavuma

Deputy Regional Director at UN Women

Prof. David M. Minja

Associate Professor of Management of Public Policy & Administration at Kenyatta University

Kebedech Nigussie

Representative at UN Women.

Dr Mrgaret Muturi

Technical. Committee Member

Janet Macharia

Head, Gender and Social Safeguards Unit at UNEP.